On February 2, 2021 (local time), photo-sharing service Instagram has announced the Recently Deleted, which can restore deleted photos and videos. This feature is trying to establish itself as a hacking countermeasure in which the account is stolen and content is deleted.
Instagram is a photo sharing app that features a story feature that automatically deletes posts within 24 hours. Instagram says that through an official blog update, hackers sometimes delete content when accessing their account, but so far there has been no easy way to get back photos and videos, but now you can restore or completely delete content that has recently been deleted. To use this feature, it said that additional verification must be performed to confirm that you are the legitimate owner of the account.
In the future, deleted photos, videos, IGTV videos, and stories will be moved to the Limitedly Dedicated folder. When the content is moved to this folder, the story is automatically deleted after 24 hours and the rest after 30 days, but users can restore the folder contents within the account in Settings, Recently Dedicated, before the content is completely removed.
This feature may not completely solve the problem of content being deleted, but it can be reliant to some extent. Users can completely remove the contents of the Recently Dedicated folder, so if a hacker can do the same. In this regard, the Instagram side required proof that you are a legitimate owner of the account in order to use the Recently Dedicated feature. Related information can be found here .